Happy belated New Years!

Standard

Happy New Years, readers! Or, something like that. It’s a few days after New Years already, but I’d like to wish you all a Happy New Year anyway. Since I didn’t get the chance to on the actual day. I do apologize for my late post, I was caught up with some work and spending time with friends and family. But I will be continuing regular weekly posts now. I also wanted to create my first video for FFE, but I’m having editing issues with my current computer so I’ll have to push that back until I finish my rebuild.

 

So let’s start off the New Year with a kick. I’m sure you guys are also ready for Winter anime season to kick in, right? I sure am. And if you’re up to date with the most recent anime previews, then you might have heard about SAO(Sword Art Online) having a second season! This was confirmed at the end of the special that was aired on New Years Eve, I believe. I missed the release hour and watched it the next day. If you haven’t checked it out, it’s a 1 hour and 40 minute special recapping the first season of SAO with a bit of fan service. Let’s take a look at what you’ll be expecting in the special.

 

vlcsnap-2014-01-01-14h15m03s55
vlcsnap-2014-01-01-14h15m33s110
vlcsnap-2014-01-03-01h30m04s125 vlcsnap-2014-01-03-01h31m35s11 vlcsnap-2014-01-03-01h31m57s234

 

Now from the screen caps, you can get a general idea of what’s kinda of fan service was in the special. I’ll admit it’s not much, but I still consider it fan service. Other than seeing most of the main heroines of the series in bikinis, you also get a pretty rad fighting scene. Other than that, most of it is just recaps from the series.

In all honesty, you basically just re-watch the whole series in this single special. I have no confirmed it myself, but I do believe the special was reanimated but it just might be the BD version of the series. I do notice more detailing and a lot nicer animation, but I’ll have to go back to confirm if it’s reanimated or now. But it is still nice to see!

Now overall, do I recommend you to watch this? I’ll be honest, the only reason I would recommend this to someone to watch is to skim through the series in 1hr and 40mins, or just watch it for the fan service. There was nothing significant about this special really. If you’re a fan of SAO, then you might just appreciate the small fan service given to us, and short action scenes. If you’re not familiar with SAO, you’re probably better off just watching this if you have 2 hours to kill off.

Did I mention blue haired Asuna looks pretty awesome? But Liz is still my personal favorite.

Now back to our topic of SAO season 2. Am I excited? Not really. I feel like it’s going to be very recycled with a slight adjustment to the story line compared to SAO season 1. I personally am not a fan of the community for SAO, mainly because majority of their fans claimed SAO was best anime of the year and such, without given other series a chance. I’m sure all of them enjoyed SAO, but that’s just one sided. I will however keep up to date with SAO, and I have added it to my confirmed viewing list, and I’ll also be doing my periodic review on it. But I don’t have a good feeling about the series and might end up dropping it, unless I decide to just watch it mainly for character designs, because those character designs look pretty rad if I say so myself.

 

That’s a lot of reading for today, so I’ll end it here for now. Until next time readers! I hope you enjoy my thoughts of the SAO special and cup of tea about SAO season 2. I look forward to a great year with you all! Until next time!

 

-Megane

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

